Book Review #106 That was then, This is now by S.E. Hinton

33569-_uy500_ss500_Rate from 1-5: 4

Reason: After reading The Outsiders in English last year, I wanted to read the other work of S.E. Hinton. I was researching her for an assignment, and this book was published three years after The Outsiders and correlates to the same setting in The Outsiders. This book was pretty well written and I related to it (well not to the extremes where I put someone in jail) because I have grown apart from someone. It’s a pretty short book and the copy I had was pocketbook size, which reminded me of the books people read in airplanes, so if you are looking for a read on the plane.. Here’s the thing though. This book is pretty deep, meaning that after finishing this book I was left thinking about my personal life, and I don’t know if that’s for everyone.

Summary: Does growing up have to mean growing apart?

Since childhood, Bryon and Mark have been as close as brothers. Now things are changing. Bryon’s growing up, spending a lot of time with girls, and thinking seriously about who he wants to be. Mark still just lives for the thrill of the moment. The two are growing apart – until Bryon makes a shocking discovery about Mark. Then Bryon faces a terrible decision – one that will change both of their lives forever.

One thought on “Book Review #106 That was then, This is now by S.E. Hinton

Leave a Reply

