The End of Oz- Book Review

The End of Oz is part of a series starting with the book Dorothy Must Die and has many prequels following it. This book will contain some spoilers as this is the fourth book of the series. Summary and book info at the end of post.

This book made me feel: 30653720-_uy400_ss400_

Adventurous

Excited

Lonesome

Warm

The style of writing that the author, Danielle Paige, uses really complemented the characters, as they were mainly teenagers.

“Most prisoners did not run Vegas-like empires” is an example.

The book is obviously a darker perception of Oz, and that really appealed to me, even though the book ended on a happy note. There is also humor incorporated, but it is pretty much dark.

wizard_of_oz__sketch_by_darkangel383-d2nee9n

Although the main plot is to kill Dorothy, Nox and Amy are starting to have a romance among them. The romance did not over power the book, but I think the point of putting in there was to try balancing out the darkness in the book.

Plus, who doesn’t love a good romance anyways?

One part of this book that I really loved was that instead of brutally cutting off the romance at the end where Amy is given two choices, go back to Kansas (Other World) but leave Nox, or stay in Oz and have no one remember her as a hero. She goes back to Kansas, but Nox shows up as well. That really got me and it made me feel so warm inside.

A lot of others feel as if this series was drawn out, with all the novellas, and three other books in this series, but I think that this book had some pretty good content in it. And hey, other series like Pretty Little Liars went up to 7-9 books (although they are very to separate genres). The End of Oz didn’t seem very rushed, although it might have been as Landel (Langwadiere) and the Nome King did not have as much complexity than other characters. Maybe Paige is going to make two other novellas with Landel’s and the Nome King’s backstories, and so it was purposely left out.

And that concludes this review!

If you’ve read this book, comment below what you thought of it. I have tons of other reviews (although most are not as complex as this one) under the Books Page.

My review on the first book in this series: Book Review #46- Dorothy must DIE by Danielle Paige (very short from my twelve-year-old self  😂)

Check out my last post: Carli Bybel x bh Cosmetics Pallete

My last book review: Confess by Colleen Hoover- Book Review

Follow my Social Media!

Goodreads Tumblr Pinterest

 

Summary: 

My name is Amy Gumm. You might remember me as the other girl from Kansas. When a tornado swept me away to the magical land of Oz, I was given a mission: Dorothy must die. That’s right, everyone’s favorite Wicked-Witch-slayer had let the magic of Oz corrupt her. She turned evil. So I killed her.

But just when we thought it was safe to start rebuilding the damaged land of Oz, we were betrayed. Now I’m following the Road of Yellow Brick as it helps me escape toward the mysterious land of Ev, where the Nome King rules a bleak and angry world. And what I’m about to find is shocking: My original mission may not have been successful.

I thought my job was over, but it’s only just beginning. And it’s up to me to foil Dorothy’s plans for revenge—and finally save the land I’ve come to love.

Published in 2017

Price: $10.96 from Amazon

Summary from Amazon

4 thoughts on “The End of Oz- Book Review

Leave a Reply

