Girl Online: Going Solo- Book Review

Girl Online: Going Solo is written by the famous YouTuber Zoe Sugg (Zoella) and she has written two other books in the series “Girl Online.” (Summary at the end of the post)

While I was reading this I felt: 51sxd1byvil-_sx324_bo1204203200_

Warm

Frustration

and love

 

This book includes a very basic level of writing, with a couple underlying plots.

” With Callum, there was no big scene, no games– he just wanted to see me again. And with Noah…? Oh! I just don’t know how to feel.”

The main character, Penny, obviously shares a lot of traits with the author herself, and I was imagining Penny as Zoe. I would assume that this book definitely included personalities from people on YouTube (like her boyfriend and her best friend), which I linked to different characters.

I was pretty frustrated with the character Megan, as she is written as a foil character (I think) because her friendship with Penny is pretty harsh and includes a lot of betrayal and drama. To me, Megan seemed like a flat character and only the negative sides were shown. Maybe Sugg tried to show more positive characteristics of Megan in the scene where Penny meets up with Megan at Madame Laplage School for the Arts…

I think Sugg, overall, covered a realistic, but fictional life of these teenagers in Brighton. This book also reminded me of the show Dance Academy with the different types of arts presented, like photography (by Penny and Callum), music (by Noah), and theatre (by Posey and Megan).

Thanks for reading!

Check out my last post: Roses are Red, but not Found.

My last book review: The End of Oz- Book Review

Girl Online review: Book Review #83- Girl Online by Zoe Sugg or ZOELLA!

Follow my social media!

Goodreads Tumblr Pinterest

 

Summary:  As Penny starts the school year she’s ready to face the world – alone. Noah has gone off the radar after ending his world tour early and no one, including Penny, knows where he is. So when she accepts Megan’s invitation to visit her performing arts school it seems like an opportunity to make some new friends.

Helping everyone else seems to be the right remedy – Elliot needs her friendship more than ever, and she meets Posey, who she can really help with her stage fright. But is charming Scottish boy Callum the right kind of distraction? And can Penny truly move on when Noah’s shadow seems to haunt her round every corner? (Goodreads)

Published in 2016

Price: $10.99 from iBooks

One thought on “Girl Online: Going Solo- Book Review

Leave a Reply

